Utrecht oct 10 & 11, 2016

Sciences for
Future Energy
Conference 2016

The conference ‘Computational Sciences for Future Energy 2016’ took place on 11 October 2016 in Utrecht, The Netherlands.

The conference brings together the Dutch research community in computational science for energy applications.

Click here to view the participants list.

Click here to view the plenary presentations (click on view presentation for each speaker).




12 October 2016: The scientific committee and the organising committee of the Computational Sciences for Future Energy conference 2016 is gratefull to all the participants for joining the conference and for all the eforts to make this first edition of the conference a success.

All the participants will receive soon an email with impressions (photos and movies) from the conference, as well as an evaluation form.

11 October: The winnars for the best poster and the best pitch are, respectively: Priyanka Agrawal (Utrecht University) and Tejas Sherkar (University of Groningen).

8 October 2016: The conference participants for the evening event on Monday 10 October 2016 are expected first at the Paushuize (Kromme Nieuwegracht 49, 3512 HE Utrecht) at 17:30 hrs. After the evening event, the participants are welcome for the check-in at the NH Hotel Utrecht (Jaarbeursplein 24, 3521 AR Utrecht).

5 October 2016: Information about the poster presentations: all the participants that have submitted an abstract for a poster/ oral presentation that was not pre-selected for the oral presentation session, have the opportunity to present their work at the poster session that will take place at 12:30-13:30. For more information, please visit the programme page.

4 October 2016: Due to large amount of submissions for poster presentations, please note that only top 15 abstracts are selected for a pitch presentation. For the selected pitches presentations: deadline for submiting your 1 slide is 6th October 2016, 12:00 hrs.

3 October 2016: Confirmation of your participation and registration will be send to all participants on 4 October 2016. In the confirmation, you will receive additional information regarding the conference and your participation.

21 September 2016: The programme for the oral presentations and pitch presentation is published. Please check the Programme page.

15 September 2016: The Scientific Committee has selected the abstracts for the oral presentation. The final programme will be announced on 16th of September 2016. The abstracts that were not selected for an oral presentations are now added to the poster abstracts. The coming week, the top 15 abstracts submitted for the poster presentation will be selected for a pitch presentation.

Due to large amount of abstract submission for the poster presentation, the sceintific committee has decided to select only 15 pitch presentations for a pitch talk. Note that if you have submitted an abstract for an oral presentation and your abstract was not selected, you still have the chance to present your work in the poster session and/or have a pitch presentation.



This event is particularly relevant for members of the Shell-NWO/FOM programme 'Computational Sciences for Energy Research' (CSER) and the
NWO programmes 'CO2 Neutral Fuels' and 'Uncertainty Reduction in Smart Energy Systems' (URSES).

The topics for the oral presentations and posters are: geosciences, wind energy, solar energy, multiphase flow, computational chemistry, CO2 neutral fuels, and uncertainty reduction in smart energy systems.


Deadline abstract submission was: 15 July 2016.
Deadline registration (without abstract) was: 15 September 2016.

Deadline presentation pitches: 6 October 2016, 12:00 hrs.

Abstract submission for an oral or a poster presentation and the registration for the conference is now closed.


The members of the scientific committee are:

Barry Koren Eindhoven University of Technology (chair)
Vianney Koelman Shell
Lourens Post Shell
Mikko Karttunen Eindhoven University of Technology
Han la Poutré Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica
Richard van de Sanden Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research
Jaap van der Vegt University of Twente


The 'Computational Sciences for Future Energy 2016' conference is organized and sponsored by Shell, FOM (Foundation for Funda­mental Research on Matter) and
NWO (Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research).


The members of the organizing committee are:

Maria Sovago (chair) Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter (FOM)
Paul Mak Shell
Astrid Zuurbier Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
N. Doudou Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter (FOM)